mayor fuller 0836

Mayor's Blog

My blog is a place where I brag on the great things people are doing in our community. From proclamations to awards to events and more, I love recognizing those who make a difference in Opelika.

View All Posts

Apr 21

April 19, 2022 City Council Meeting

Posted on April 21, 2022 at 11:22 AM by Celina Becton

On Tuesday, April 19, 2022, I declared at the City Council meeting that Opelika would set aside the month of April to support the Month of the Military Child. It was an honor to recognize Opelika's military-connected children John Sweatman, City of Opelika Project Manager, Crystal Brown, Army Reserve Family Readiness Support Assistant, and Amber Beals, Army Reserve Family Programs Director, to represent all of Opelika's military-connected youth. 

Month of the Military Child

It was an incredible opportunity to recognize Sgt. James Daniel as Officer of the Year for the City of Opelika's police department. 


 I also had the amazing opportunity to recognize Police Chief Shane Healey for serving the City of Opelika for 25 years. It is an honor to work with you, Shane!

Chief Shane Healey 25 years

Attaboy awards are given to outstanding City of Opelika employees. I had the honor to give Attaboy awards to John Sweatman, Matt Mosley and Scott Parker for their exceptional service to the city.


I also recognized many other City of Opelika employees for 5+ years of service. They are listed as follows: 

Community Relations 

Leigh Krehling - 5 years

Parks & Recreation

Mercedes Lockhart - 5 years

Sheree McConnell - 5 years 

Laura Leigh Chesser - 10 years

Information Technology

Johnathan Hill - 10 years

Environmental Services

Robert Hall - years 

Bob Young - 10 years


Matt Mosley - 5 years

Rachel Dennis - 15 years

Human Resources

Ruth Blessing - 5 years 

Heather Middleton - High - 15 years


BJ Lowery - 10 years

Kent Hollingsworth - 20 years 


Scott Bass - 25 years 

Brent Stephens - 25 years


Mary Heard - 25 years 


Andrew Coleman - 5 years

Kyle Harper - 5 years

Josh Lovell - 5 years 

Sikuria McCurdy  - 5 years

Forest Provo - 5 years

Alejandro Reyna - 5 years 

Adam Stadler - 5 years

At the end of the night, Councilwoman Norris was able to recognize an incredible group of individuals that are the “changemakers” that create positive energy and a caring environment by engaging their time, talents, passions, technical skills, and professional expertise to strengthen and help our city flourish. The City of Opelika joins other cities across our great state and nation to honor community volunteers during National Volunteer Week. These contributions improve the lives of our citizens and shine a bright light on the good in our community. Volunteers and especially the Class of 1986 Alumni Group, collectively demonstrate their power to make a difference and are an inspiration for all of us to follow.  

Pictured are the Class of 1986 Alumni Group volunteers, Cassandra P. Mills, President, Marvin Mitchell, Vice-President, Susie Bridges Gullette, Secretary, Jennifer Calhoun Kirk, Treasurer, Tabatha Maddox White, Co-Treasurer, Angela Heard, Parliamentary, Monica Fears, Victor Hughley, Cynthia Gibson Preston, Kelvin Taylor, Gwen Doolittle Lockhart, Elease Dowdell Brooks, Calandra McDougald Harris, Regina Dowdell, Pamela Jackson Hill, Barbara Shephard Thomas, Wanda Walton Harris, Tammy Godfrey, Randall Calloway, Audra Baker, Uteevia Hughley Ambus, Sharon Holcey Dexter, and Angela Floyd Coleman 



You must log in before leaving your comment