mayor fuller 0836

Mayor's Blog

My blog is a place where I brag on the great things people are doing in our community. From proclamations to awards to events and more, I love recognizing those who make a difference in Opelika.

View All Posts

Apr 06

April 5, 2022 City Council Meeting

Posted on April 6, 2022 at 11:14 AM by Nicholas Johnston

What a busy night! In addition to a busy council meeting, I had the pleasure of recognizing some individuals that are currently making an impact in our community as well as a group of young men and women who are poised to make a difference in the future.

It was my honor to recognize Chris Johnson for his excellent work on the new murals at both the Opelika Public Library and the Museum of East Alabama. Chris received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from Clemson University in 2008 and a Master of Fine Arts from the University of South Carolina in 2011. Trust me when I say that he has put what he learned at those institutions to good use. Chris has received recognition for his work in 2016 as the Capitol Art Exhibit Artist of the Year from the Georgia Art Education Association and in 2019 received the John H. Woodall Excellence in Teaching Award from Andrew College.

We thank you for putting your talents to use in the City of Opelika and helping to preserve Opelika's history through art.

Chris Johnson recognition

I am proud to designate April 2022 as Sexual Assault Awareness Month in Opelika, Alabama. I ask all residents of Opelika to join advocates and communities across the country in taking action to prevent sexual violence.

Sexual Assault Awareness Recognition

I am proud to join Chief Healey, Captain Amerson, Chief Boyd and Farrell Seymore in recognizing the graduating students of the 20 Under 20 Student Exploratory Program. These individuals include students from Opelika High School, Reeltown and Southern Union. 

I would like to recognize the following individuals for completing the program:

Jada Bell, Kaleb Clark, Raina Curtis, Scarlett Erwin, Alexis Ezell, Tahkeria Gibson, Ja'Juan Graham, Audrey Griggs, Najee Johnson, Zach Mckee, Ashleigh Pitts, Christopher Skinner, Leslie Smith, Mason Smith and Jason Tiedmann.

Congratulations and good luck on your future endeavors!

20 Under 20 Kids group photo


You must log in before leaving your comment