The Administrative Division includes the radio operators, clerks, secretaries, custodians, identification technician and evidence technician. They are responsible for all maintenance and supplies for the entire department.
The Opelika Police department operates a 24- hour communications center. The Communications Center provides dispatch and E911 services for the police, fire and E.M.S departments in the area.
Records & Reports
Our records division maintains all reports created by the Opelika Police Department.
You can pick up a copy of a police report from our Records Division at the Opelika Police Department during normal business hours of Monday through Friday 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. central time (closed on major holidays).
There is a $10 charge for each report copy. We accept credit cards, cash or money orders. No checks are accepted. If you have any questions you may call one of our records clerks at 334-705-5294. The Opelika Police Department is located at 501 South 10th Street, Opelika, Alabama 36803. If the report you are interested in obtaining is for insurance purposes or for a lawyer, you may prefer to have them request the report for you.
For Incident reports, OPD can only provide the first page of the report with the basic information. You must be listed as the reporting person, victim or offender in order to obtain a copy. Proper identification is required.
If requesting a copy, please provide:
- Case Number (if known)
- Date of Incident
- Location of the Incident
- Names of people involved
Accidents NOT on Private Property or in a Parking Lot can be purchased online at the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Website- ALEA Crash Reports
A case file is a more thorough investigation of an incident that has been reported. Whether or not a case file can be released depends on its status. A case under active investigation or pending court, will not be made available to the public. Case files can only be released with proper approval.
If approved, the cost for a copy of the case file is $2 per page. If photos were taken at the scene, there is an additional charge; photos are not included in the cost of each report and must be requested separately. Any replication of any audio or videotapes will be charged $25 regardless of the type of tape that is reproduced. Complete Case Files must be purchased, to include any photographs, video and/or audio recording, crimes scene scans, accident scene scans, and Crash Data Recorder (CDR) recordings.
- Copy of Case File: $2.00 per page
- Copy of photographs: $25.00 per disc
- Copy of video recording: $25.00 each
- Copy of audio recording: $25.00 each
- Crash Data Recorder (CDR): $50.00 per vehicle
- Crime scene scan: $150.00 per scan
- Accident scene scan: $150.00 per scan
There is no charge for Defense Attorneys who are using the files for discovery purposes in criminal cases.
Property & Evidence
Our evidence technician is responsible for inventory and processing all evidence and found property.
Found property has to be held for 90 days before destroying.
To pick up property, call the Evidence Tech at 334-705-5200 to set up an appointment. This is required to ensure that the Evidence Tech has all the paperwork authorizing the release of property.
Proof of ownership is required for guns and vehicles.
Fingerprinting is done every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
When you arrive, let the Records clerk know you are here for fingerprinting.
Fingerprinting is done on a first come basis. When you arrive, please have a seat and be patient, we will be with you as soon as possible.
You must provide your own Fingerprint Card(s).
Go ahead and complete all the information on your Fingerprint Card(s) except for your signature. Also, have your photo identification available.