Lee Russell Council of Governments / MPO Citizen Advisory Committee

Meets: The MPO will now meet during the months of Feb, May, Aug, and Nov. The schedule is as follows: 

CAC – Tuesday - May 4, 2021 at 10:00am
TAC – Tuesday – May 4, 2021 at 1:30pm
Policy Board – Thursday – May 6, 2021 at 9:15am

CAC – Tuesday - August 3, 2021 at 10:00am
TAC – Tuesday – August 3, 2021 at 1:30pm
Policy Board – Thursday – August 5, 2021 at 9:15am 

CAC – Tuesday - November 2, 2021 at 10:00am
TAC – Tuesday – November 2, 2021 at 1:30pm
Policy Board –Thursday – November 4, 2021 at 9:15am

CAC – Tuesday - February 1, 2022 at 10:00am
TAC – Tuesday – February 1, 2022 at 1:30pm
Policy Board – Thursday – February 3, 2021 at 9:15am

Length of Term: 2 years.

Appointed by: City Council appoints two of the ten-member Board of Directors. The other member governments appoint the remaining board members.

Required / Purpose: Lee-Russell Council of Governments is a regional planning and development organization that serves member governments by managing programs, promoting cooperative efforts and serving as a clearinghouse for federal, state and local funds. Member governments include the City of Auburn, the City of Opelika, Lee County, the City of Phenix City and Russell County.

The Auburn-Opelika Metropolitan Planning Organization (AOMPO) is the group of local, elected officials, transit operators, and state officials who are responsible for the coordination of a planning process that results in a (25 year) Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) and a short term (four year) Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). Decisions are made through a process involving three committees which are managed by staff of the Lee-Russell Council of Governments. The AOMPO operates under the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act), the federal law governing surface transportation.

The AOMPO decides, in cooperation with the Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT), what transportation projects are funded with the available local, state, and federal dollars. The AOMPO publishes priorities for transportation-related projects for various modes such as highways, transit, freight, and bicycle/pedestrian. Tools ranging from sophisticated computer models to old-fashioned town meetings are used to help determine which projects are funded. It is the responsibility of the State, operators of publicly owned mass transit, and the MPO to ensure that the transportation planning and programming process is cooperatively carried out. To that end, ALDOT, LRCOG, the Cities of Auburn and Opelika, and the Lee County Commission have entered into an agreement (3-C Agreement) to provide a comprehensive, cooperative, and continuing planning process that describes each of these entities respective roles and responsibilities within the metropolitan planning process.