The Opelika Police Department is divided into four Divisions, each commanded by a Captain.

Patrol Division

  • Captain Jonathan Clifton
  • The largest of the four divisions
  • Contains the Patrol units, Training/Recruiting, School Resource Officers, K-9 unit, Traffic / Homicide team, SWAT and Hostage Negotiators
  • Responsible for answering calls for police service, traffic enforcement and investigation, misdemeanor warrant service

Detective Division

  • Captain John Hester
  • Contains General Investigations, Youth Aid, and a Narcotics section
  • Responsible for the investigation of felony crimes, and misdemeanor crimes involving juveniles or certain other offenses
  • Crime Prevention and Neighborhood Watch Program

Administrative Division

  • Captain Kenny Miller
  • Contains the radio operators, clerks, secretaries, custodians, identification technician, evidence technician
  • Responsible for all maintenance and supplies for the entire department, records, and custodian of records

Community Relations