Click for Opelika, Alabama Forecast

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of nine members: The mayor, one administrative official selected by the mayor, a member of the City Council (ex officio), and six persons who are appointed by the mayor. The City of Opelika Planning Commission:

Current Planning Commission Members

        Lewis Cherry (Chairman)
        Ira Silberman (Vice Chairman)
        Mayor Gary Fuller
        Arturo Menefee
        Michael J. Hilyer
        Lucinda Cannon
        David Canon
        John McEachern

(One seat to be filled.)

Planning Commission's Comprehensive Plan for 2030
To see a copy of the plan click here PDF Icon.

For more information about the Planning Commission or to submit an application for request contact the Planning Department at 334-705-5156.
To see the Minutes from Planning Commission Meetings, click here.

In order to view some of the applications, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. Download Acrobat Reader here

PDF Icon  Conditional Use Application

PDF Icon  Rezoning Application

PDF Icon  Subdivision Application

PDF Icon  Annexation Application

PDF Icon  Authorization to Act as Applicant

PDF Icon  Waiver of Notice Administrative Subdivision 

PDF Icon  Vacation of street, alley or easement 

Planning Commission Meetings

The deadline to submit an application for Planning Commission review is the first Tuesday each month before 4:00 PM. The applications should be submitted to the Planning Department at the Public Works Facility, 700 Fox Trail. The Planning Commission meets at 3:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month at the Public Works Facility, 700 Fox Trail. A Planning Commission worksession is held on the third Tuesday before the Planning Commission Meetings of each month at 3:00 p.m.

Upcoming Planning Commission Meeting Agenda

Upcoming Planning Commission SUB-COMMITTEE GATEWAY CORRIDOR Agenda

Minutes of the Planning Commission

2017 Calendar